Founding Editors-in-Chief

photo of Elaine Mardis, PhD

Elaine R. Mardis, PhD

is co-Executive Director of the Steve and Cindy Rasmussen Institute for Genomic Medicine at Nationwide Children’s Hospital and holds the Rasmussen Nationwide Foundation Endowed Chair of Genomic Medicine. She also is Professor of Pediatrics at The Ohio State University College of Medicine. Educated at the University of Oklahoma with a B.S. in Zoology and a Ph.D. in Chemistry and Biochemistry, Dr. Mardis did postgraduate work in industry at BioRad Laboratories. She was a member of the faculty of Washington University School of Medicine from 1993-2016. Dr. Mardis has authored over 380 articles in peer-reviewed journals and has been listed since 2013 as one of the most highly cited researchers in the world by Thomson Reuters. Dr. Mardis was given the Morton K. Schwartz award from the American Association for Clinical Chemistry in 2016 and the Heath Memorial Award from MD Anderson Cancer Center in 2020. Dr. Mardis is Past President of the AACR (2019 – 2020). She was elected a Fellow of the AACR Academy, and was elected to membership in the National Academy of Medicine in 2019.


photo of Lillian L. Siu, MD

Lillian L. Siu, MD

is a senior medical oncologist at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto. She is the Director of the Phase I Clinical Trials Program and holds the BMO Chair in Precision Cancer Genomics. Dr. Siu had served on the Board of Directors for both the AACR (2017-2020) and ASCO (2012-2016). Dr. Siu was the Co-Chairperson for the 2012 AACR Annual Meeting Scientific Committee and for the Clinical Trials Committee from 2015 to 2017. Dr. Siu’s major research interests include experimental therapeutics, precision medicine, and head and neck malignancies. She is the Contact Principal Investigator of a multi-center Phase I UM1 award sponsored by the US NCI. Dr. Siu was the recipient of the 2010 US NCI Michaele C. Christian Award in Oncology Drug Development. In 2020, she was awarded the TAT Honorary Award for contributions in the development of anticancer drugs. She also received the 2020 International Women Who Conquered Cancer Mentorship Award. Dr. Siu has published over 350 peer-reviewed manuscripts.



Cancer Research Communications Editorial Office
American Association for Cancer Research  |  Publications Division
615 Chestnut Street  |  17th Floor  |  Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404
Phone: (215) 440-9300  |  Fax: (215) 440-9354  |  E-mail: