Frank McCormick, PhD, director of the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, was inaugurated as president of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) in April at the organization's 103rd annual meeting in Chicago. He will serve a 1-year term, succeeding Judy E. Garber, MD, MPH.

McCormick holds the E. Dixon Heise Distinguished Professorship in Oncology and the David A. Wood Distinguished Professorship of Tumor Biology and Cancer Research at UCSF. In addition, he is the associate dean of the UCSF School of Medicine.

Also at the organization's annual meeting, Beatrice Mintz, PhD, received the annual AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research, honoring the lasting impact of her research and commitment to progress against cancer.

Mintz, the Professor and Jack Schultz Chair in Basic Science at the Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia, pioneered the notion of a chimeric, or transgenic, mouse. She was also the first to suggest and prove the importance of a tumor cell's environment in its cellular identity and function.

John Mendelsohn, MD, who served as president of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center from 1996 to 2011, received the annual AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research at the organization's annual meeting. The award recognizes his sustained leadership and achievements in cancer research. Mendelsohn's pioneering work helped establish the field of targeted therapy, specifically EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibition.

For more news on cancer research, visit Cancer Discovery online at