Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, professor of medicine and cancer biology at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, TN, will be inaugurated as president of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) this month at the organization's annual meeting in San Diego, CA. He will serve a 1-year term, succeeding Charles Sawyers, MD.

Arteaga's involvement with the AACR spans more than a decade. He has been a member of its board of directors, served on several committees, and cochaired multiple conferences. He has also served as deputy editor of AACR's Clinical Cancer Research.

A principal investigator of a Stand Up To Cancer Dream Team, Arteaga's research interests include oncogene signaling and molecular therapeutics in breast cancer, with an emphasis on targeted therapies and mechanisms of drug resistance. His recent work has focused on the role of neoadjuvant trials to discover molecular biomarkers that inform patient selection in clinical trials.

Victor J. Dzau, MD, has been named the next president of the Institute of Medicine (IOM), part of the National Academy of Sciences. Succeeding Harvey Fineberg, he will begin a 6-year term on July 1.

Currently, Dzau serves as chancellor for health affairs at Duke University, president and CEO for Duke University Health System, and professor of medicine at Duke's School of Medicine in Durham, NC. Prior to his tenure at Duke, he was a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and chairman of Medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital, both in Boston, MA.

The IOM provides advice to government policymakers, health professionals, and the public on issues such as health care delivery and quality, cancer prevention and management, and vaccine safety. Dzau was elected to the IOM in 1998.

For more news on cancer research, visit Cancer Discovery online at